The value of continuing education can never be underestimated.
For many years, Rotary Club of Harrisburg (RCH) members have financially and functionally support high school students from area schools attain valued scholarships.  The scholarship awards are for $2,000 each.  It is estimated the Club members have funded hundreds of scholarships.
According to Scholarship Chair Curt Stutzman, “Our committee has been supporting four students for quite some time now.  Typically, we select one student from each of the four area school districts in our Club’s footprint.  I say, typically, because one year our committee had tied scoring sheets.”
Students from John Harris High School, Harrisburg Sci Tech, Steelton-Highspire High School and Bishop McDevitt High School are encouraged every year to submit detailed applications.  Committee members score the applications using a scoring system that looks at a number of factors, including financial need, rank in class, an essay and more.  Committee members review the submissions and make the final scholarship determinations.
Stutzman says, “The RCH pancake breakfast held in October each year is the largest fundraiser for the Club.  Most of the scholarship funding comes from the proceeds.  Occasionally, as in the case of the tied scoring, we need to request additional funding from the Club’s Foundation coffers.”
Stutzman has been the Scholarship Committee’s chair for four years.  When asked why he serves, he said, “I like to be of service in ways that I can help and this is one way to do that for our Club.  I enjoy the interaction with the students at the lunch when we host them to present the awards.  I like to hear their goals and plans for their future. 
Over my years as a committee member and chair, I’ve seen many of these students as future leaders in our community and hope they eventually become engaged Rotarians.  I also think my being detail oriented helps in updating the application and tabulation of the scores.”
Students frequently send thank you notes like this one, “Thank you so much for this opportunity, this really means a lot to me and my family! Thank you again.”  A.C.
Members of the Scholarship Committee include Karen Cullings, Carolyn Dumaresq, Michael Eby, Peggy Grove, Betty Hungerford, Curt Stutzman (Chair), Michele Tantardini and Sue Ward-Diorio.